COVID-19 travel alert: Get the latest travel alerts impacting the Northern Territory here


Territory Tourism shines at 2018 Brolgas

  • 12 November 2018
2018 brolga award winners
26 businesses and three individuals were winners at the 2018 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Awards over the weekend.

The Awards celebrate the hard work and dedication shown by our NT tourism operators and businesses over the past 12 months and create a standard in tourism merit for others to aspire to.

Winning a Brolga Award is Territory tourism's highest possible accolade.

In the business categories, Nitmiluk National Park won the Brolga for best Major Tourist Attraction, while the 2017 Darwin Festival won in Major Festivals and Events.

Alice Springs upped the ante for their Top End counterparts, taking the award for both Visitor Information Services, Alice Springs Visitor Information Centre, and Business Events Venue, Alice Springs Convention Centre.

Other highlights included Trek Larapinta winning best in Ecotourism and North Australia Yacht Support were awarded the Tony Clementson New Tourism Product.

Passionate ecotourism advocate Mr Rick Murray, founder of Odyssey Tours & Safaris and current owner of Middle Star tourism consultancy, was awarded the Tourism Minister's Perpetual Trophy.

Mr Murray is a dedicated tourism advisor is well-known in the local tourism industry, having held roles on the Tourism NT advisory board, the Kakadu Tourism Consultative Committee and the Kakadu National Park Board of Management.

The 21 business category winners will now represent the Northern Territory at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards with winners announced in March 2019.

See the full list of winners of the 2018 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Awards here.

Page last updated on 10 January 2020