NT tourism operators bring home gold for the Territory

  • 19 March 2024
Awards Darwin Convention Centre

Four NT tourism operators were acknowledged for their excellence at the 2023 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, reinforcing the Territory’s position as a leader in Australia’s tourism industry.

Darwin Convention Centre; Katherine Outback Experience; NT Bird Specialists Birding and Photographic Safaris; and Darwin Festival were all acknowledged on stage in Darwin last Friday night. Host venue, the Darwin Convention Centre, was awarded the best Business Event Venue, winning gold for the Territory. Darwin Convention Centre is a world-class business events venue and the centrepiece of the Darwin Waterfront Precinct.

Multi awarding winning Katherine Outback Experience took home gold for the Tourist Attractions category and bronze in Excellence in Accessible Tourism.

Katherine Outback Experience’s authentic and immersive activities include an Outback Show, horse riding lessons and experiences, Stockman’s Workshops and a Farm Therapy program. Accessibility and inclusiveness underpin their decisions, with the aim to ensure that every guest feels valued and included.

NT Bird Specialists Birding and Photographic Safaris, a leading special-interest birdwatching, wildlife and photographic tour operator, has won bronze in the Tour and Transport Operators category.

For Major Festivals and Events, Darwin Festival was awarded a bronze.

This was the second time Darwin has hosted the nation’s premier tourism industry event, having previously hosted in 2017.

The Australian Tourism Awards are the country's peak awards program that recognise excellence in tourism across 26 business categories. Finalists are the winners from each state / territory’s awards and are then judged by a national panel of industry experts. Representing the Northern Territory were the NT business category winners from the 2023 Brolga Awards, the NT’s official tourism awards program that recognises tourism businesses that strive for excellence.

For a full list of winners, visit 2023 Australian Tourism Awards - Winners - Quality Tourism Australia

Page last updated on 19 March 2024