COVID-19 travel alert: Get the latest travel alerts impacting the Northern Territory here


Congratulations 2019 Brolga Award winners

  • 17 November 2019
2019 Brolga Award Winners
Nitmiluk National Park has been named the Territory's best major tourist attraction at the 2019 Brolga Awards.

The Park picked up the prestigious award for the second year running at a gala ceremony last night in Alice Springs.

The Jawoyn Association, joint management partners of Nitmiluk National Park, also took home the night’s highest honour, the Tourism Minister’s Perpetual Trophy.

In a winning night for the Katherine region, Nitmuluk Tours won the Chairman’s Choice award for Tourism Excellence and Nitmuluk’s Cicada Lodge won the Luxury Accommodation award and Tourism Restaurants and catering Services Award.

While other Katherine winners included Marksie’s Stockman’s Camp Tucker Night with the Department of Trade, Business & Innovation Business Growth Award and Tom Curtain’s Katherine Outback Experience winning the Tourist Attractions award.

A total of 29 businesses and two individuals were winners at the Awards, which celebrates the Territory’s best products and individual contributions.

The Skal Tourism Employee Award went to Dean Lambert, a Central Australian tour guide who has been working in the industry for 30 years, with a passion for the Outback.

The George Dunne Award Outstanding Contribution by an Individual went to Grant Whan, who has also been in the industry for 30 years. Grant’s current role involves assisting a range of tourism businesses with their development needs.

The 22 business category winners will now represent the Northern Territory at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards in March 2020.

To see a full list of winners, download the 2019 Brolga Awards Winners List here.

Page last updated on 10 January 2020